Community, People

Teachers recognized for their outstanding work in the classroom

June 20, 2022

The Faculty of Education recognized four associate teachers for contributing to teacher education.

The 2021-22 Associate Teacher’s Award for Excellence winners are:

  • Anne Fleming – Byron Somerset Public School – Primary Division Award
  • Andrea Ziemann – Cedar Creek Public School – Intermediate Division Award
  • Jennifer Dodds – Mountsfield Public School – Junior Division Award
  • Krista Caron – Dr. Frank J. Hayden Secondary School – Senior Division Award
Associate Teachers supervise, support and mentor Bachelor of Education Teacher Candidates who are on teaching practicum placements at schools throughout a number of different school boards.

Winners are nominated each year by the Teacher Candidates with whom they work. A committee within the Faculty of Education selects the winners from the dozens of nominations they receive each year.