Community, People

Award for Excellence winners announced

June 21, 2022

The Faculty of Education has announced the recipients of the Alternative Field Experience Supervisor’s Award for Excellence.

The award recognizes community members’ outstanding work with teacher candidates during the 2021-22 academic year.

The winners are:

  • Darby Alderson – Thames Talbot Land Trust – Community Organization Award
  • Jennifer Trampleasure – TVDSB H-ELP Program – Ontario K-12 School Award
  • Mathew Schroeder – TEMS Academy – Other School Award

The Other School Division includes private schools, daycares, and post-secondary institutions.

Winners are nominated each year by the Teacher Candidates with whom they work. From the nominees, a committee within the Faculty of Education selected the winners.

Western Education established the AFE to help their teacher candidates stand out from competing faculties of education. The AFE increases teacher candidates’ marketability because they showcase their skills and they get hands-on experience with job applications as they have to apply to organizations for their placement. Teacher candidates also develop soft skills, such as networking and making cold calls when finding their placements.